The Supply Chain Standard has been developed to provide a food safety and quality management program for businesses involved in fresh produce supply chain operations including:

  • Agents
  • Brokers
  • Fumigators
  • Marketing groups
  • Packers
  • Ripeners
  • Storage and distribution centres
  • Transporters
  • Wholesalers

The Freshcare Supply Chain Standard Edition 2 (SCS2) is the current standard available for program participants seeking certification.

Edition 2 was released in 2021 to meet the latest market requirements, international standards and to gain recognition against Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) Version 2020.1 benchmark requirements. To ensure continued access to markets around the world for Australian produce.

While you’re working on assuring the safety of what we eat, we support you to meet and maintain the standard’s essential practices and criteria by providing training and program resources. To find out more about Supply Chain Standard training visit Freshcare eLearning.

Certification to the Supply Chain Standard is achieved through independent third-party auditing, for more information visit How to get certified.

Expired Versions – Supply Chain Standard Edition 1

Supply Chain Standard Edition 1 expired on 31 January 2022 and Supply Chain Standard Edition 2 replaces it from 1 February 2022.

See below for information on how to transition your program from Supply Chain Standard Edition 1 to 2.

Transitioning to Supply Chain Standard Edition 2

From 1 February 2022, all audits are carried out to Supply Chain Standard Edition 2.  If you are currently working to the requirements of Edition 1, you will need to identify the updates and changes to the Standard and make the necessary adjustments to your operations, before your next audit.

Click here to download the Supply Chain Standard Edition 2 (SC2) Transition Guide

More information and supporting factsheets and template resources are available to current participants via FreshcareOnline.